Poetry Tuesday: Deception

There is not one part of my body that doesn’t ache after another brutal Long Beach Grand Prix weekend. I feel like I was the one who crashed inside of a car going 150. . .

Anyhuey, here’s a poem that’s more than a little bit bitter, but for some reason makes me laugh. From early 1800s Korea, by Kim Sujang:

Look at that girl in blouse and patterned skirt
her face prettily powdered, her hair as yet unpinned.
Yesterday she deceived me,
And now she’s off to deceive another.
Fresh cut flowers held firmly in her hand.
Her hips swinging lightly as the sun goes down.

;o)

2 thoughts on “Poetry Tuesday: Deception

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

