Natalie Gelman at the Hyatt

No time for prelims today; let’s get right to the musical action!
Well, one prelim: talking to Nat before the show—which was Thursday—was ol’ musical buddy Tiff Jimber, whom I literally hadn’t seen or heard in years. She seemed quite surprised to hear her name being called, but looked as delighted to see me as anyone has in decades. Gotta see her in concert again soon. . .
Okay, on to Natalie. !253

1 Streetlamp Musician
2 Summer Song
3 Hey There Delilah
4 I Would Do It Without You
5 Sundance in Your Eyes
6 Laugh So Hard You Cry
Intermission

!566
7 Won’t Matter Anymore
8 Crazy
9 The Lion
10 You and I and We
11 Stand by Me
12 One Fine Day

!257

1 Streetlamp Musician
Starting with one of my faves, but since it’s not my #1 fave, that’s okay.

!276

2 Summer Song
Not sure I’ve ever heard this one. . .

!293

3 Hey There Delilah
Pretty sure I’ve heard this one, but don’t remember much of it. I’m shooting like a maniac, wondering when security is going to come over and tell me to put the camera away. . .

!309

4 I Would Do It Without You
Another I don’t remember hearing; looks like her new album is gonna be full length.

!357

5 Sundance in Your Eyes
This one I of course know, one of my faves. Look up the video to this, where she talks about how she wrote it with a morning deadline.

!367 crop

6 Laugh So Hard You Cry
When I sing along the camera shakes; you’d think I’d remember.

!368 crop

Intermission

!370

7 Won’t Matter Anymore
Another new one; this is getting ridiculous.

!423
8 Crazy
Obviously a cover, but I much prefer her version; Matt the percussionist indeed going crazy on the djembes, even using his fists.

!432

9 The Lion
There’s my fave. Still learning the video on this little camera, and to sit still for three minutes, and not let my arms tire.

10 You and I and We
Heard it at the last show, made more of an impression this time.

!438

11 Stand by Me
Cover on uke, which is corded; haven’t seen that often. A long loud drum solo, but my attention is fixed on an awesome redhead walking through the lobby as if showing herself off. . . which, considering how she’s dressed, might be exactly what’s going on her. Good thing I’m poor, or I’d be tempted. . .

!519

12 One Fine Day
Carole King cover, so she says. She also adds, “Free stickers and cards and high-fives.” I’m guessing the last part was for the half dozen or so kids.

!537

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

