Poetry Tuesday: Desire Loosening

So. . . there’s an India Jones food truck. Bet they don’t serve snakes.

Two interesting conversations this week. A foreign friend who’s hilarious with idioms: instead of saying “too many irons in the fire,” she goes with, “too many buns in the oven.” And to someone who said that bacon is almost as good as sex, I had to reply, “As much as I love bacon, you’re obviously a virgin.”

Okay, to busy-ness. Alcman was a Greek poet from the 7th century B.C. that I doubt anyone’s heard of. . . so I guess this now becomes his most famous work.

Desire loosening
arms, knees, thighs, she
looks at me
more meltingly
than sleep or death, such
sweetness carries her–

Astymeloisa, swaying
past me, lifts her garland
high, a star
skimming the night air
or green-gold April sprout, or
softly, a feather. . .

;o)

2 thoughts on “Poetry Tuesday: Desire Loosening

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

