Poetry Tuesday: Clockwork Angels

As happened a few months ago with Egyptology, I am inspired to do a poetry entry by something I went to see. Last night I went to the movie theater to see a Rush concert on the big screen, or as it turned out half of one, but that’s another blog. As far as reviews go, this is what HD and Dolby sound were made for; the experience was at times better than live. More to the point, it inspired me again to think that song lyrics are today’s poetry.
So with all that said, some of my favorite excerpts from Clockwork Angels

I was brought up to believe
The universe had a plan
We are only human
It’s not ours to understand.

You promise every treasure
To the foolish and the wise
Goddess of mystery
spirits in disguise
Every pleasure
We bow and close our eyes

Sometimes the angels punish us
by answering our prayers

Canyons and cactus
Endless and trackless
Searching through a grim eternity
Sculptured by a prehistoric sea

All I know is that sometimes yuo have to be wary
Of a miracle too good to be true
All I know is that sometimes the truth is contrary
Everything in life you thought you knew.
All I know is that sometimes you have to be wary
‘Cause sometimes the target is you

Believe in what we’re told
Until our final breath
While our loving watchmaker
loves us all to death

And of course the point of the whole endeavor:
In a world where I feel so small
I can’t stop thinking big.

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

