Catalina Cacti

For the third straight year I went to Santa Catalina Island for my birthday, surviving the early wakeup and just-a-touch-seasick hour crossing. Last year I forgot my big camera and the battery ran out on my little one, so this time I was gonna make up for it.
And as usual overdid it. . ..

Even though the Huntington Library and Gardens has extensive cacti fields, and walking around my neighborhood I can stop quite a few if I tried, I found myself enjoying the stroll through the very dry exhibits–drought, you know–of the island’s botanical garden; I spent about three times as much time there as I’d expected. So to start off the photographic tour, here’s the most non-normal of the green prickly ones.

This guy just looks weird

This guy just looks weird

preeeeety geometric pattern

preeeeety geometric pattern

Called Bunny Ears; I think it's more Mickey

Called Bunny Ears; I think it’s more Mickey

Make up your own joke. . .

Make up your own joke. . .

How is the shoot longer than the trunk?

How is the shoot longer than the trunk?

 

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

