Poetry Tuesday: Caring for my Lover

Jalal ad-Din Rumi, best known by just his last name, lived in Persia from 1207 to 1273.

Friends, last night I carefully watched my love
sleeping by a spring circled with eglantine.
The houris of paradise stood around him,
their hands cupped together
between a tulip field and jasmines.
Wind tugged softly in his hair.
His curls smelled of musk and ambergris.
Wind turned mad and tore the hair right off his face
like a flaming oil lamp in a gale
From the beginning of this dream I told myself
go slowly, wait
for the break into consciousness. Don’t breathe.

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

