Poetry Tuesday: Dear Gentle Soul

By Luis Vaz de Camoes of Portugal, 1524-1580.

Dear gentle soul, who went so soon away
Departing from this life in discontent,
Repose in that far sky to which you went
While on this earth I linger in dismay.
In the ethereal seat where you must be,
If you consent to memories of our sphere,
Recall the love which, burning pure and clear,
So often in my eyes you used to see!
If then, in the incurable, long anguish,
You see some merit–do this favor for me:
And to the god who cut your life short, pray
That he as early to your sight restore me
As from my own he swept you far away.

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

