Poetry Tuesday: In Santiago

By Spanish poet Lope de Vega Carpio, 1562-1635

In Santiago the green
Jealousy seized me
Night sits in the day,
I dream of vengeance.

Poplars of the thicket,
where is my love?
If she were with another
then I would die.

Clear Manzanares
Oh little river,
Empty of water,
Run full of fire.

;o)

One thought on “Poetry Tuesday: In Santiago

  1. En Santiago el Verde
    me dieron celos,
    noche tiene el día,
    vengarme pienso.

    Álamos del seto,
    ¿dónde está mi amor?
    Si se fue con otro
    morireme yo.

    Manzanares claro,
    río pequeño,
    por faltarle el agua
    corre con fuego.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

