Book Reviews: A Trio

As always, got to read them early in exchange for telling you what I think about them. Doesn’t seem like an equitable exchange rate, but I’m not about to complain.
Finding that these three books didn’t generate enough words for me to blog about them individually, I came up with the idea of combining them into one writing. Amazing! I wonder why no one ever thought of that before!
Okay, fine. On with it. . .

Rodeo Red, by Marypat Perkins
Had no idea this would be a children’s book when I electronically picked it up; you know how I am with redheads, so I couldn’t resist taking a look. Glad I did, though. It’s told as a Western, with appropriate dialect, and has great drawings. The basic story is of a little girl who gets a baby brother who wants her favorite toy, and how she figures out how to compromise and live happily ever after. . . or at least till the baby gets to the terrible twos. Actually, the end is written as “happier than two freckles on a sunny cheek,” which is simply awesome.
My fave line: “I thought for sure anybody who hollered that much would be hauled to the edge of town and told to skedaddle. But the Sheriff and her Deputy seemed smitten.”
5/5

Battlestar Galactica 2: The Adama Gambit
{Note: this is original series, not “reimagining”}
A collection of comic books which were a bit tough to read on the computer screen, but I persevered. The first story was my fave, with Athena in command on the bridge. There’s also a bit on Adama losing his confidence before growing a pair, and an intriguing take on Baltar and how he became such an ass. {Spoiler: it was Daddy’s fault.}
4.5/5

Far and Near, by Neil Peart
I’m pretty sure that even if I wasn’t a Rush fan I would enjoy reading his books, be they fiction or travel, or even journals, as this is. What’s most interesting to me is that, even though I’ve already read all of these stories off his website—albeit with months in between each one—perusing them now, as chapters of a greater piece, made for a completely different experience. I’m reminded of something he said in one of his interviews, pertaining to music but also valid here: “What I want the listened (reader) to take away is that care has been taken here.” When I post a blog about one of my many trips I prefer to let it live as a stream of consciousness, straight from my memory to the page or computer screen. Not so with him; it is obvious care has been taken here. I’m particularly enamored for his reason for journaling, as he writes in the outro (which was never posted on his website): “When reviewing the stories to prepare this book, many times I came across a passage of description, action, or conversation, and thought, ‘I would have never remembered that.’ Sobering to reflect that if a time and place do not exist in memory or in art, they might as well have never happened.” Exactly.
4.5/5

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

