Poetry Tuesday: Thinking of Lady Yang At Midnight

Anonymous from 12th century Korea.

Watching alone by the ancient city wall,
Thinking of one who was too beautiful,
What did I see? What did I hear?

Moonlight, quivering over empty courtyards,
A voice calling out of the midnight shadows.
One name, her name, echoes across the silence.
Light feet, her feet, in shoes of peacock feathers,
Dance through the empty halls. Will they never rest?

Thinking of joys that ended and sorrows which never end
I find my white robe spangled with tears for her.

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

