Lindsey Stirling Evanescence Concert, part 1

As Iā€™m on the bus heading for downtown Los Angeles, I realize how different I feel this time as opposed to my first Lindsey Stirling concert, when I was basically a nervous wreck knowing I was going to meet her, even though Iā€™d only known about her for approximately six months. Now, a full two years after that, my fifth time seeing her live, and having spoken to her in a more casual setting a few months ago, I figured things would be far different. . . or at least I hoped. I wasnā€™t sure at all.
First stop: Juanitaā€™s of Olvera Street for a giant bean and cheese burrito, fueling up for a long day and night. Also, I knew I wouldnā€™t get hungry till late, and I was right; I didnā€™t eat again till I got home at two in the morning. . . and that was cereal. The ownerā€™s son is a Lindsey fan, but he wasnā€™t there, so I couldnā€™t boast about my second row seats (not that I would have). From there it was a quick stop at Kittyā€™s for the usual post-burrito vanilla soft serve before heading back to Union Station and the subway ride to East Hollywood.
Second stop: Vermont/Sunset, waiting for the DASH observatory bus to take me to the venue, along with a bunch of people who worked there at the Greek Theater, tonight’s venue. Amazing they had to be there a good five hours before the show! Other people were going to that beautiful lump of white up on the horizon. . .


Thanks to concise instructions in the email, I knew exactly where to go for the VIP Meet ā€˜nā€™ Greet tent. Had to take a photo, because the background of brown hills and shady trees made the setting look like anything but Los Angeles.

After a wait, then a security search, we were allowed into the tent, where people lined up for free food and drinkā€”which was mostly bags of popcorn and lemonade, so typical Lindseyā€”and getting their faces painted. (I saw a video where the Evanescence Meet ā€˜nā€™ Greet featured champagne, so I definitely made the right choice, despite not getting to meet Jen the guitarist.) Having been through such events before, I grabbed a seat at a table near the stage first, which might have been the best move I made all day. Besides, Iā€™d just eaten a giant bean and cheese burrito, so itā€™s not like I was hungry. On the other hand, free popcorn. . .
At a couple of tables there were giant versions of Connect 4 and Jenga, which nobody was playing, probably a good thing, as I dropped a circle in the Connect 4 later and it was LOUD! Instead there was really small talk as we waited to get in line to get our photos take with the diva of the hour. When that finally occurred, we were herded back outside for a small security speech: no lifting, no heavy squeezing, donā€™t even take your cell phones out. That was disappointing, as Iā€™d wanted to do a Dancing With the Stars pose with her, but couldnā€™t show the photo to her. It probably wouldnā€™t have mattered, though, as there was no cell service in this canyon of Griffith Park! WHAT?
I jumped out of line to say Hi to Kit and show him some photos Iā€™d taken of him at his show a few months beforeā€”more on that later. Also there was Andy, whoā€™s the lighting guy on tour. Managed to talk to him about some lighting stuff Iā€™d seen at a few Rush concerts, which was fun for a while until I could see he was getting bored. Yeah, I frequently overstay my welcome, but then we guys donā€™t understand hints, right, ladies?
So remember how at the start I said this time was going to be different? It wasnā€™t. I donā€™t remember what I said to Lindsey; I donā€™t even remember if there was a hug. If they hadnā€™t sent me a link to the photo I probably would have forgotten that happened too. It was different in that it was much shorter, as in hello photo next. Part of it was due to her having signed the posters beforehand, but there was no time for conversation here, which would have been a bummer had I been able to remember what Iā€™d hypothetically said.


Like my shirt?
Then it was back into the tent for a wheel of fortune-type game and a two-song concert; I canā€™t even remember which order they took place in. A couple of people won selfies, but mostly it was ask Lindsey questions. Since I was seated so close to the stage I tried to get a photo of Lindsey, but Iā€™m a professional photographer, not a cellphone one. Oddly enough, I got a decent shot of Kit, whom at this pace Iā€™ll be shooting a lot more times than Lindsey. (See previous blog of Moonlit Kit concert photos.)

Lindsey, Kit, and Andy the Lighting Guy on cajon played ā€œSomething Wildā€ and the mashup of ā€œRoundtable Rival/Donā€™t Let This Feeling Fade.ā€ I very much want a full instrumental version of the latter song, which I am simply putting here on the one in a billion chance Lindsey reads this.

Once that was done and Lindsey paid off the selfies, the party broke up and we were invited to stick around or go into the venue. I did a little of both, talking to a few people, especially the guy I was supposed to go to the Holocaust museum with last week, but who was so late I had to leave for another appointment. He had a huge brag book of his photos, and luckily he grew a bigger audience, allowing me to slip away.
In the tent were some posters from Lindseyā€™s past shows, including an image I love: Steve-o carrying her around on his shoulder during Master of Tides. Since heā€™s playing a pirate here, and sheā€™s on his shoulder. . . doesnā€™t that make her the parrot?

After a while I got bored and went into the venue, where I would be bored even more, but thatā€™s for next time. . .

;o)

Tell me what you think I need to know. . .

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.